Standing Committee on Sustainability


Click HERE to connect to the official webpage for the Sustainability Committee.

The purpose of the Sustainability Committee is to encourage education, stewardship, and policy leadership that will make our community a leader in economic, social, and environmental sustainability.

The Committee serves the City of Rapid City in several capacities including educating citizens about sustainability through social media, hosting events, and working directly with City Employees. It acts as a sounding board for citizens or groups who propose sustainable efforts or practices, often encouraging them for further consideration. It consults with and assists City Departments, including Public Works, Community Planning and Development Services, and Parks and Recreation while serving as a resource to the Rapid City Common Council. Committee members represent the City as ambassadors at local/national events, and recognize sustainable efforts in the community through its awards program.

awards program 


12 voting and 2 alternate members


Applicants from the fields of commerce, education, energy, local government, alternative transportation, planning, recycling, green building, and the community at large are encouraged to apply.


Meetings are held every second and fourth Monday of each month in the Third Floor West Conference Room of City Hall beginning at 5:30 p.m.


Lilias Jarding - Term Expires - August 2020
Kelly Moore - Alternate - Term Expires - August 2020
Matraysa Punderson - Term Expires - August 2020
Jason Phillips - Term Expires - August 2020
Zach Burckhard - Term Expires - August 2020
Ria Harper - Term Expires - August 2021
Kevin Crosby - Term Expires - August 2021
Alan Anderson - Term Expires - August 2021
Danielle Gage - Term Expires - August 2021
Pepper Massey - Alternate - Term Expires - August 2021
Lysann Zeller - Term Expires - August 2022
Kelli Juhl - Term Expires - August 2022
Brian Mitchell - Term Expires - August 2022
Garth Wadsworth - Term Expires - August 2022


Rapid City Solid Waste Division
5165 South Highway 79



Upcoming Meetings

Apply For Committees

Apply Now

Committees with an asterisk(*) after the name have current openings.

 Printable Application Form

Login Form