Metropolitan Planning Organization

The Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) was created in 1977 when the population of the Census-defined urbanized area exceeded 50,000.

The MPO’s regional transportation planning process ensures that existing and future expenditures for transportation projects and programs are based on a comprehensive, cooperative, and continuing planning process.  Federal funding for transportation projects and programs are channeled through this planning process.


There are three committees that comprise the planning process: the Citizens Advisory Committee, the Technical Coordinating Committee, and the Executive Policy Committee. The composition of each committee must represent and be appointed by one of the member agencies within the geographic boundary of the MPO.

Citizens Advisory Committee
Technical Coordinating Committee
Executive Policy Committee


Provide coordinated transportation planning efforts for the 431 square miles of area located within the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization boundary. This geographic boundary includes the City of Rapid City, the City of Box Elder, the City of Summerset, City of Piedmont, Ellsworth Air Force Base, the unincorporated areas of Black Hawk and the developing areas of Pennington County and Meade County.


All three Committees meet in the Circle of Friends Community Room, 2nd floor City Hall, 300 Sixth Street.


Kip Harrington, Division Manager
Long Range Planning Division
Department of Community Development
300 Sixth Street
Rapid City, SD 57701
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Transportation Planning

Upcoming Meetings

Apply For Committees

Apply Now

Committees with an asterisk(*) after the name have current openings.

 Printable Application Form

Login Form