Library Board of Trustees

Agenda  folder Minutes

The Library Board of Trustees participates in the ongoing responsibilities of the governing body, including establishment of library policies and planning for future Library services and programs. Board members maintain an awareness of library issues and trends and the implications for library users. They act as a liaison with the public, interpreting and informing local government, media and public of Library services and needs.

Number of Members 

5 members, 1 City Council Liaison (voting), and 1 Pennington County Liaison.

Special Qualifications 


Residency/Registered Voter Requirement

Members must be residents of Rapid City (with the exception of the County Liaison who will need to reside within Pennington County).

Summary of Duties 

Members determine and adopt written policies which govern the operation and services of the Library. The Board represents the interests and needs of community members; sets an annual budget and approves expenditures of funds; monitors budget and expenses throughout the year. Reports activities to City and County Commissions annually.


Meetings are typically held on the second Monday of every month at 12 p.m. held in Conference Room A at the Rapid City Public Library.

Library Board Members

Rod Pettigrew - Term Expires - December 2017
Maryanne Rohrer - Term Expires - December 2017
Mary Garrigan - Term Expires - December 2018 
Faye Bice - Term Expires - December 2019
Casey Martin - Term Expires - December 2019

City Liaison:
Rapid City Public Libraries
610 Quincy Street
Rapid City, SD 57701

City Council Liaison:
Becky Drury

Rapid City Municipal Code
pdf Bylaws (192 KB)                                                              
About the Board

Upcoming Meetings

Show Full Calendar

Apply For Committees

Apply Now

Committees with an asterick(*) after the name have current openings.

 Printable Application Form

Login Form