Journey Museum Board

The Museum Alliance of Rapid City (MARC) Board, also known as the Journey Museum Board of Directors, is tasked to operate exclusively for charitable, scientific, literary, and educational purposes including, the development and operation of a combined museum facility in Rapid City, South Dakota, known as the Journey Museum.

Number of Members  

15 (4 mayoral appointments and 1 City Council voting board member)

Special Qualifications


Residency/Registered Voter Requirement


Summary of Duties 

The Board of Directors oversees the general management and control of business and affairs of The Journey Museum. Employees of The Journey Museum reside under the control and direction of the Board of Directors. The Board of Directors may exercise all of the power that The Journey Museum has, except as may be otherwise provided, and limited by the Articles of Incorporation, these bylaws, and the law.


Meetings are held the fourth Thursday of each month at the Journey Museum at 3:00 p.m. in the Boardroom.

Mission Statement

The Journey Museum is the region's education venue that serves as a forum to preserve and explore the heritage of the cultures of the Black Hills regional and the knowledge of its natural environment so residents and visitors can understand the values of our past, enrich our present, and meet the challenges of the future.

MARC Board Mayoral Board Members

Megan Reder-Schopp - Term Expires - December 2019
Donna Fisher - Term Expires - December 2019
Eric Zimmer - Term Expires - December 2020
Hayley Helms - Term Expires - December 2020
Lisa Modrick - Term Expires - July 2018

City Council Liaison:
Lisa Modrick

For More Information:

Upcoming Meetings

Show Full Calendar

Apply For Committees

Apply Now

Committees with an asterick(*) after the name have current openings.

 Printable Application Form

Login Form